Safeguarding children

Safeguarding means protecting children and taking action when a child or young person is at risk of harm. Children may be harmed because they are being physically, emotionally or sexually abused or neglected.

If you are worried about a child or young person please call 020 7974 3317 (out of hours: 020 7974 4444). If you think a child is in immediate danger you should call the police on 999.

You don’t have to be absolutely certain about your suspicions - if you have a feeling that something’s not right, talk to your local children’s social care team who can look into it.

Report a concern

Sexual exploitation

Sexual exploitation is when a young person is enticed or forced into sexual activity in exchange for something – such as food, money, somewhere to stay, alcohol or drugs.

Report sexual exploitation

Radicalisation and extremism

Some children may be drawn to extremist ideas and become involved in violent acts related to extremist groups. If you are worried that your child may be becoming radicalised following contact with extremists, read the following information from the Camden Safeguarding Children Board (which from June 2019 became the Camden Safeguarding Children Partnership).

Keeping young people safe

County lines

County lines is a form of criminal exploitation where children and young people are targeted by gangs and organised crime groups to transport and sell drugs. This leaflet gives parents information on how to recognise the signs and take action if their child is involved.

County lines: information for parents (PDF)


Female genital mutilation

If you are worried about FGM or you need more information, read the government's document linked to below.

FGM - The facts


Safeguarding children training

The Camden Safeguarding Children Partnership provides a range of free Level 3 and 4 safeguarding courses available to all organisations working with Camden children or their families. Please note the CSCP's training programme does not include Level 1 or Level 2 safeguarding training.

Camden offers Level 1 and 2 Safeguarding training for those organisations that have access to the Camden Learning and Development Hub. Organisations on this list have access to the L&D Hub. Staff from those organisations should follow the instructions on the hub website to create an account.

If your organisation does not have access to the L&D Hub and you are looking for Level 1 or Level 2 safeguarding training, the National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children (NSPCC) has a range of courses available (some is now free too).

If your organisation is working with Camden children aged 0 to 8 years old or their families, Camden's Early Years Quality Support provides free Level 1 or Level 2 safeguarding children training. Please email for further details.


North Central London Child Death Review arrangements

As part of new safeguarding arrangements, CDR (Child Death Review) processes are also required to transform.  

In October 2018 the Department of Health and Social Care and the Department for Education released new Child Death Review Statutory and Operational Guidance.  

It builds on statutory requirements set out in Working Together to Safeguard Children and clarifies how professionals and organisations across all sectors involved in a child death should contribute to the child death review process.  

Oversight for CDR processes will move from the Department of Education to the Department for Health and Social Care recognising that most child deaths are due to medical factors rather than safeguarding.

The new guidance aims to:

  • Improve the experience of bereaved families.
  • Ensure that information from the child death review process is systematically captured in every case to enable learning and to prevent future deaths.

One requirement of the new guidance is the CDR processes must review at least 60 deaths per year.  Within NCL there are currently an average of 80 deaths (<18 year olds) per year.  Based on the last three years’ data the average number of deaths across the five boroughs is 80 (Barnet, 20, Camden 11, Enfield 20, Haringey 20 and Islington 13). CDR partners in North Central London have agreed that a single NCL CDR process is established across Barnet, Camden, Enfield, Haringey and Islington.