Houses in Multiple Occupation

Properties that require an HMO licence

There are two types of HMO licence:

Mandatory licence

This applies to large HMOs that are three or more storeys in height occupied by five or more unrelated people who share facilities. These might be a kitchen, bathroom or toilet. It also includes a property with flats which do not have all amenities behind their own lockable front door.

When counting the number of floors, you must count all storeys in residential occupation, even if they are self-contained. This includes basements, loft conversions and attics if they can be occupied or are used in connection with the occupation of the HMO.  Also any floors used by a resident landlord and their family, and any business premises or storage space.

This is a national scheme introduced on 1 April 2006 under the Housing Act 2004.

Additional licence

This includes all other HMOs (including flats in multiple occupation) occupied by three or more persons who form more than one household. The number of storeys is not important. This includes buildings converted into self-contained flats, those that do not meet the standards of the Building Regulations 1991 (or later) and 50 percent or more of the property is rented. Further information can be found under s257 of the Housing Act 2004.

This is a local scheme to Camden, which came in on 8 December 2015. A landlord commits an offence by letting a HMO without a licence.

Would you like to provide feedback?(Click to show feedback form)

Please rate this page to help us improve Please don't include your contact details as we are unable to provide responses via this form. To get in touch please click here.

Please select one of the options.

Thank you for your feedback.